Sojo Poetry


What The Mind Can Conceive, The Pen Can Achieve


Sijo Poetry Definition

Sijo is the classic form of unrhymed poetry in Korea. Sijo have three long lines. Each line varies between 14 and 16 syllables, with the middle line often the longest. The first line states a theme, the second line counters it, and the third line resolves the poem. Each line is between 14 and 16 syllables for a total count between 44-46 syllables.


Example

The Red Barn

as a child, the red barn invited me to mischief
inside, a loft filled with pigeons; guiding me toward destruction
with gun in hand, I create mayhem leaving holes in the farmer’s roof

The Shed

a shed suffering abuse, looks like it is ready to collapse
inside a swarm of Yellow Jackets, their sound warning of danger
three boys plan to upset the hive, their failure, poor execution

I love this form. Give it a try, I am sure you…

View original post 17 more words

